Author Topic: Numeric keyboard  (Read 2817 times)

Trencher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Numeric keyboard
« on: April 18, 2012, 05:02:34 PM »
I'm still new to this environment, but am learning fast. One thing that has eluded me though is how to switch the soft keyboard to the numeric keyboard when entering a field control. I have tried search on both forums and had no luck in finding this information. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Malkom

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 286
Re: Numeric keyboard
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2012, 05:22:43 PM »
Hello

It is supposed to auto-detect which keyboard is present(active) and use that keyboard.

For example, if the phone is flipped to open the hardware keyboard and a field is touched to enter data then the soft-keyboard should not appear.

My Android G1 has a hard keyboard and this works okay. We also tried on a tablet with a plugin USB keyboard and it worked fine to.

However, is this working for you ?

Malkom
I am sorry but I do not have time to answer questions by PM or email.
If you post your questions in this forum then it might help others.

Malkom

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 286
Re: Numeric keyboard
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2012, 05:26:55 PM »
Sorry, I misread your question.

To get the numeric portion of the soft-keyboard to appear there shoud be a button with numbers on the bottom left of the soft-keyboard.
I am sorry but I do not have time to answer questions by PM or email.
If you post your questions in this forum then it might help others.

Trencher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Numeric keyboard
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2012, 05:31:34 PM »
So there isn't a way to force it numeric?

Malkom

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 286
Re: Numeric keyboard
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2012, 05:46:57 PM »
So there isn't a way to force it numeric?

Perhaps I'm misunderstanding your question.

If you mean to programmatically force the soft-keyboard to appear in numeric mode when it first appears - then not yet because currently the soft-keyboard always appears in default mode - which is alphabetic mode - and assumes the user will force it to the required mode.

I'll see if there is any option so that the keyboard mode can be programmatically set in the next update of HAC.

I am sorry but I do not have time to answer questions by PM or email.
If you post your questions in this forum then it might help others.

Trencher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Numeric keyboard
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2012, 05:48:22 PM »
ok, thanks.