HyperNext Studio

HyperNext Studio => General => Topic started by: Jeff on May 09, 2011, 12:02:26 AM

Title: Need More Fields
Post by: Jeff on May 09, 2011, 12:02:26 AM
I'm trying to show data in more than 56 fields but found that HN is limited to only 50 fields.

1. Is there a way to increase fields using HN?

2. Is there a way to put data (numbers) into e.g. field 1 to field 8 and show those fields 1 to 8 in one single field e.g. in field 9?

Thank you.
Title: Re: Need More Fields
Post by: Malkom on May 09, 2011, 06:11:29 AM
Quote from: "Jeff"
I'm trying to show data in more than 56 fields but found that HN is limited to only 50 fields.

1. Is there a way to increase fields using HN?

2. Is there a way to put data (numbers) into e.g. field 1 to field 8 and show those fields 1 to 8 in one single field e.g. in field 9?

Thank you.

Unfortunately the limit of 50 fields per card is a hard limit.
In  our Android dev we are allowing users to override many hard limits and when HN V4 finally arrives it will have these options to.

To display field 1 to 8 inside field 9 - here are two examples:

Code: [Select]
@ Use APPEND so texts are on same line
@ separated by spaces
local f

for f=1 to 8
 Append field f onto field 9
 Append ‘  ‘ onto field 9
endfor



Code: [Select]
@ Use AFTER texts are on different lines
local f

for f=1 to 8
 Put field f after field 9
endfor



If some of your field aren’t editable then perhaps you could replace them with a Canvas.
Canvases can easily be made to look like a read-only field.
Title: Re: Need More Fields
Post by: Jeff on May 10, 2011, 01:45:31 AM
I'm now thinking of adding these signs (.) and (|) and numbers to field 9.

For example:
putting the number 1 in field 1, the number 2 in field 2, number 3 in field 3 and number 4 in field 4 so field 9 will show the result like this: 1.2 | 1.3 | 1.4

Thank you.
Title: Re: Need More Fields
Post by: Malkom on May 11, 2011, 07:53:42 AM
Quote from: "Jeff"
I'm now thinking of adding these signs (.) and (|) and numbers to field 9.

For example:
putting the number 1 in field 1, the number 2 in field 2, number 3 in field 3 and number 4 in field 4 so field 9 will show the result like this: 1.2 | 1.3 | 1.4

Thank you.

Try using the PUT and APPEND option to build up your line and then put it into the field

Code: [Select]
@ Use APPEND so texts are on same line
@ separated by spaces etc

local f,sline

Clear sline
for f=1 to 8
   Append ‘1.’ onto sline
   Append field f onto sline
   Append ‘| ‘ onto sline
endfor
Put sline into field 9
Title: Re: Need More Fields
Post by: Jeff on May 17, 2011, 02:21:07 AM
Okay I've done the code but found this line gave an error: Append ‘1.’ onto sline

This is the code that you gave me:

@ Use APPEND so texts are on same line
@ separated by spaces etc

local f,sline

Clear sline
for f=1 to 8
   Append ‘1.’ onto sline
   Append field f onto sline
   Append ‘| ‘ onto sline
endfor
Put sline into field 9

But just for the test of this code I only did 4 fields and the code is something like this:

@ Use APPEND so texts are on same line
@ separated by spaces etc

local f,sline

Clear sline
for f=1 to 3
   Append ‘1.’ onto sline
   Append field f onto sline
   Append ‘| ‘ onto sline
endfor
Put sline into field 4

Please help

Thank You
Title: Re: Need More Fields
Post by: Malkom on May 17, 2011, 12:48:28 PM
Quote from: "Jeff"
Okay I've done the code but found this line gave an error: Append ‘1.’ onto sline

As this is the first line - I wonder if you copied and pasted it from the forum post - and so the quotes aren't acceptable to the compiler.
I've made this mistake before.