Author Topic: how to import data from excel HELP!  (Read 6380 times)

scottbux

how to import data from excel HELP!
« on: August 03, 2011, 01:16:39 AM »
im trying to import data from excel. i have no idea how to do it. i have read through the entire quick start guide and searched through all the forums but i cant find anything. the closest thing to an answer i have found says to check out the books project. but from what i understand that just saves data you type into the software.  here is an example of what i need.

Phone Number            Customer Name            Account Info
 "Data from cell A"        "Data from cell B"         "Data from cell C"

Notes: "whatever notes the employee writes"

Then i need to know how to save data (like data put into the notes field) into a different excel file.  i pretty much have the rest of the software made i just need this very important detail. i have never programmed any kind of software before so all of this is new to me. so please explain it like you're talking to a 7 year old :)

oh and one more thing. i need to know how to password protect my software. so new users would have to enter their own custom username and password. Please help!

Scott
« Last Edit: August 03, 2011, 01:18:14 AM by scottbux »

Malkom

• Administrator
  • Here to help you
Re: how to import data from excel HELP!
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2011, 05:36:08 PM »
im trying to import data from excel. i have no idea how to do it. i have read through the entire quick start guide and searched through all the forums but i cant find anything. the closest thing to an answer i have found says to check out the books project. but from what i understand that just saves data you type into the software.  here is an example of what i need.

Phone Number            Customer Name            Account Info
 "Data from cell A"        "Data from cell B"         "Data from cell C"

Notes: "whatever notes the employee writes"