Author Topic: Scripting sounds  (Read 3199 times)

LeslieWooddavis

Scripting sounds
« on: July 10, 2010, 06:32:24 PM »
I am a former HyperCard games designer (Uncle Fudd's Treasure, Clue and others). I would like to assign (via script) a sound to a button. Using hypercard I would simply put: play "frog" 2 times. What would be the comparable script in HyperNext?

I have already added several sounds (.aiff and .wav) to the sound library of my current project. I have no trouble adding and playing one of my sounds via the Sounds: on the Properties Menu, so I know they are there and they work. How do I get the same sounds to cooperate by script? I am a bit confused by your SoundPlay(channel,filename) directions. For one, I have no idea what the channel is or where to find it. I have tried SoundPlay(1,frog), and( 2,frog) (3,frog) (4,frog) (5,frog) since you mentioned that there are five dedicated sound channels in HyperNext. What am I doing wrong?

Help?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Malkom

• Administrator
  • Here to help you
Re: Scripting sounds
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2010, 06:52:36 AM »
I'm sorry for the delay in replying.

The sound play command in HyperNext is not as flexible as the Hypercard command as it only plays the sound either once or loops it.

There are two ways that come to mind for playing a sound immediately after another sound ends.

(1) The best way is to use a timer and let your button trigger it. The timer fires every 50mS or whatever and checks to see if the current sound has stopped playing and if so then starts the next sound. This approach allows other events to occur.

Assume a Timer 1 on the card is being used. There is also a global timer if you need to change change cards while playing sound sequences.

Put this script in your button:-

Code: [Select]
SoundPlay(1,'jungle.wav')
TimerSet(1,2,50)

Put this script in the timer:-

Local playing

Put SoundIsPlayingFN(1) into playing
If playing=0 Then