Author Topic: Gotocard seems to fire automatically  (Read 2687 times)

Bobcat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Gotocard seems to fire automatically
« on: November 10, 2010, 11:01:44 PM »
Hello, I am new to HyperNext and really attracted by the posibilities.

I am studying the tutorial and doing my first exercises. I have a card Home with a button with a Goto 2 card2 property and a card2 with a button with a Goto 1 Home property. When I run the program and press the button in card Home I seem to remain there with nothing happening. On closer inspection, it seems that card2 does flash for a brief fraction of a second but immediately returns to Home (I was able to spot this by changing the background color of card 2).

This does not happen if card2 has no button with a Goto 1 Home property set: It does call the second card and remains there.

I also tried this by setting the Goto property to None and writing a Gotocard script in the buttons event script and the behavior is the same.

Any ideas why this is happening and how I could correct it?

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Malkom

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 395
  • Here to help you
Re: Gotocard seems to fire automatically
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2010, 05:55:07 PM »
Hi, nice to hear your are working through the tutorial.

I'm sorry you are having problems with the Goto command for moving between cards but you have found a bug in this version of HyperNext. Fortunately there is a solution in these posts:-

http://http://tigabyte.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=50#p94

http://http://www.tigabyte.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=67
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »
I am sorry but I do not have time to answer questions by PM or email.
If you post your questions in this forum then it might help others.

Bobcat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Gotocard seems to fire automatically
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2010, 02:29:26 AM »
Thank you Malkom for your answer. I did enter some trivial script assigned to the cards and the buttons behaved as expected.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

androbourne

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Gotocard seems to fire automatically
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2011, 02:53:36 AM »
I've seen this bug as well if you open up the code editor of the cards that are glitched, start from the top card, button etc... and just scroll through all those in the editor then close and save.

Once you reopen it should have fixed the glitch. I believe it is caused by the hypernext program during editing of a file or code and the glitch occurs there, cycling through the button and cards through the editor on the page with the glitch seems to fix it.

tigabyte

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 54
Re: Gotocard seems to fire automatically
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2011, 09:04:13 AM »
Thanks for the feedback on this code editor problem.

The bug in the card GOTO command is actually caused by a bug in the HyperNext compiler and has been fixed in HAC but not yet in HyperNext Studio.