Author Topic: Putting text into fields  (Read 6462 times)

AtoZ

Putting text into fields
« on: February 27, 2012, 02:11:31 AM »
Hi, I'm new to HyperNext, although I did quite a bit of HyperCard development years ago.

I am having a fundamental problem trying to put text into a field. I have tried the following:

Put 123 into field 1

Local varNumbers
Put 123 into varNumbers
Put varNumbers into field 1

When I run the stack with either variation, nothing appears in field 1.

I'm clearly missing something obvious, but what?
Does this code need to be in a particular script? (At the moment it's in the Startup script.)
Does the field need to be activated somehow?

I've looked in all the documentation, I've looked through the forums, and so far everything that I see indicates that either of the two approches above should work.

Any suggestions?

P.S. Is it possible that my copy of HyperNext is corrupted? I first downloaded it yesterday, and mananged to cause a system crash in my first few minutes of trying to script (I had not yet noticed that some commands need their parameters inside parentheses and others do not (and I can testify that it makes a difference). Anyway, after a restart, I could not open any HyperNext stacks. I kept getting various error messages.

So I uninstalled HyperNext and then downloaded it again. When I tried to open the 2nd download, I got another error message saying some setup file was corrupted.  HyperNext was not yet showing in the Start/All Programs menu, meaning I couldin't run the uninstall option, so I just downloaded it a 3rd time over whatever was already there.

This time everything appeared to go OK, but I worry that perhaps there is still some corrupted Hypernext file from the 1st or 2nd download that might be interfering with things.

Malkom

• Administrator
  • Here to help you
Re: Putting text into fields
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2012, 05:10:21 AM »
Hello AtoZ

Its always nice to see a Hypercard user/developer here :)